#1 Theduardo

Theduardo

groovy.

• Root Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,964 posts

Posted 09 June 2008 - 05:16 PM

Raising Freshwater Shrimp In Your Own Backyard

I love gulf shrimp, but finding good, fresh gulf shrimp here in my part of Oklahoma is pretty much impossible.

I have been raising shrimp in my very small windmill pond since 2002. I stock the pond in May and harvest the shrimp in the fall.

Posted Image

I raise the Macrobrachium rosenbergii species. There are other species suited for raising at home, I raise these due to the availability.
I purchase 30 to 60 day old juveniles raised in a hatchery in Ft Worth Texas. This is close enough for me to pick them up myself ...I save on delivery costs.

The shrimp are bred and hatched out in salt water, then introduced to fresh water for the "growing out" phase.....(what I do).

Posted Image

The juveniles come bags and tropical fish boxes.

Posted Image
Posted Image

I float the bags of juveniles on top of the pond for at least 15 minutes to equalize the water temperature.

Posted Image

Then I introduce some of the pond water into the bags.

Posted Image

Next I release them into the pond.

Posted Image

I feed the shrimp a sinking 32 percent protein catfish feed. I hand broadcast the feed. They do not get more feed until they have cleaned up what I have thrown out....I check the feed once a day. They also do well on bugs already existing in the pond.

Posted Image

The shrimp grow at different rates....some are more aggressive than others.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

I harvest the shrimp using crawdad traps. I place bait in the traps and leave them out overnight. The shrimp crawl into the cones on the side, drop down into the trap to get the bait and can not get back out. There is a lid on top for removing shrimp and adding the bait. I usually use chicken as bait.

Posted Image

Harvesting is easy.......I bring in the traps, put the shrimp in an ice chest and rebait the traps.